American Flute Quintets

$ 14.99

Joan Tower writes: "This is my fourth piece written for Carol Wincenc, an extraordinary flutist with a deep musicality." The main theme in Tower's virtuosic Rising repeatedly ascends using different kinds of scales- mostly octatonic or chromatic- and occasionally arpeggios. Arthur Foote's A Night Piece and Scherzo published in 1918, proved to be among Foote's most popular chamber works, the nocturne even being orchestrated for larger string ensemble in 1922. A Night Piece explores a long arching fragment of melody with close-knit and ever-shifting harmonies. The Scherzo is quintessential Foote- an A-B-A, with a foot-stomping dance, followed by a more introspective central episode, returning to the dance. The performances were prepared and performed at Vermont's Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival.

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Joan Tower: Rising for Flute and String Quartet (2010)
Arthur Foote: Two Pieces for Flute and String Quartet (1918) (A Night Piece; Scherzo)
Amy Beach: Theme and Variations in A minor, Op. 80, for flute and string quartet

Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival:
Carol Wincenc, flute
Kevin Lawrence, violin
Carolyn Stuart, violin
Sheila Browne, viola
Brooks Whitehouse, cello