Bridge Records Catalog

Giulio Regondi: A 200th Birthday Bouquet; David Starobin

$ 16.99
In honor of the 200th birth year of Giulio Regondi, Victorian composer, guitarist, and concertinist, David Starobin's recording combines previously unissued recordings with re-mastered Regondi favorites from Starobin's back catalog.

David Starobin on Regondi and C. Damon Carter

"Though his music has come to light only in recent decades, Giulio Regondi was unquestionably the greatest of the 19th century composer-guitarists, the author of works that combine technical brilliance, warmth of spirit and rich melodic invention. David Starobin, an eloquent champion of Regondi’s work, has both the technique and interpretive sensibility to illuminate the composer’s best guitar music, as well as guitar transcriptions of works Regondi wrote for his other favored instrument, the concertina."

— Allan Kozinn, December 2022
***Allan Kozinn, has written for journals as diverse as Guitar Review and the New York Times***

"The 20th century focus on the Spanish classical guitar overshadowed a rich tradition of 19th century European guitarists and luthiers. Guitars by makers like Stauffer in Vienna had a short playing scale and a quick attack well-suited to the agile technique and musicianship of such six-string virtuosi as Regondi. Starobin’s appreciation of Regondi’s artistry is, guitaristically and musicologically, a rich hommage to an under-appreciated artist of the six-string guitar."

— Laurence Juber

***Laurence Juber was formerly guitarist for Paul McCartney and Wings***

"A child prodigy, Regondi dazzled French and British audiences with his virtuoso performances on the guitar. These exquisite performances, beautifully recorded, are a delight. A delectable recording, one that I enthusiastically recommend." 

— Ken Meltzer, Fanfare


Five stars ***** Delightful, underexplored classical guitar compositions played beautifully

"David Starobin is widely known as one of the finest guitarists of recent years. His
playing of Regondi is sensitive, with a keen ear for harmonic tension and resolution and a knack for shaping melodic lines with expressive subtlety. His love for the music is evident from start to finish, Warmly recommended on all counts."
— Myron Silberstein, Fanfare, January 2023

"Starobin’s programme embraces compositions for guitar and his own transcriptions of Regondi études for concertina...Whichever instrument is graced by Regondi’s creative touch, the musical results are alluring. His Nocturne Rêverie places the guitar in an operatic scene of soaring beauty and subtle nuances, all achieved to rapturous effect by Starobin. Regondi is in more dashing mood in pieces balancing poetry and pyrotechnics, such as the Introduction and Caprice, Op 23, and Aria varié No 1, Op 21. Even in the études for guitar or concertina there is never a hint of the academic, especially in the shapely and urgent performances Starobin offers to salute a composer whose contributions continue to enchant players and listeners of this expressive repertoire."
— Donald Rosenberg, Gramophone, March 2023

"Starobin recorded these works at the peak of his technical and musical mastery of the guitar.  For an uplifting program manifesting the strong bond between romantic composer and contemporary performer, look no further."
— Jim McCutcheon, American Record Guide

“One of the torch bearers for Regondi's music – probably the most important – was David Starobin....That the playing is superlative goes without saying, and with recorded sound to match and illuminating liner notes by Paul Cesarczyk and David Starobin, this issue should be a must-buy for all lovers of guitar music.”
Göran Forsling, MusicWeb International