Alfred Schnittke
Quasi Una Sonata

$ 14.99

Boston Herald: Best of Year 2001



“This disc would make a very useful introduction to Schnittke for any listener just wanting to get to know something about this controversial composer. Inevitably, history is going to weed out quite a lot of Schnittke’s prolific output, but these four pieces will surely stand the test of time.” - BBC Music Magazine

“Schnittke works can be difficult to perform, and in some cases, virtually impenetrable to audiences. But these fiery works have warmth and humor. In this remarkable disc, Joanna Kurkowicz and Sergey Schepkin find both. They perform as if joined at the hip.” - Classical Net



Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872
Alfred Schnittke

Sonata No. 1 
for Violin and Piano

A Paganini
for Violin solo

Sonata No. 2 (Quasi una Sonata)
For Violin and Piano

Prelude in Memoriam Dmitri Shostakovitch
for Violin and Tape

Joanna Kurkowicz, violin
Sergey Schepkin, piano