Great Performances from the Library of Congress

Nathan Milstein: 1946 Recital
Great Performances from the Library of Congress, Vol. 3

$ 14.99

Hold on to your hat! Released herein, for the first time, is a disc of astonishing violin playing: one of this century's greatest masters captured at the peak of his powers. This 67 minute disc offers ample evidence for the widely held contention that Milstein was among a handful of the greatest violin virtuosi of his time.

This disc includes performances of many of the works that made Milstein famous. His Vitali Chaconne features the impeccable intonation and beautifully focused vibrato that made his name legend. Faster and more intense than the studio recordings that he would later make, Milstein's Bach G minor Sonata brings together intellectual strength and the heartfelt emotion that marks all of the performances in this recital.

In a class by itself is the astounding virtuosity of Milstein's Paganiniana- simply one of the most amazing displays of digital facility that one will ever hear.

This disc includes a real rarity - Milstein's performance of the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto, Op. 64, with piano accompaniment. Because of the resultant prominence of the solo violin part, violin enthusiasts will be particularly excited about the opportunity to hear Milstein's interpretation "up close". As encores Milstein offers his own haunting transcriptions of Chopin's Nocturne in C sharp minor as well as a spectacularly fiery rendition of Wieniawski's Scherzo-Tarantelle.



“Nathan Milstein is heard in a solo recital of 1946 where his well-nigh infallible technique and patrician style are shown to great effect.” - American Record Guide

“Violinist Nathan Milstein and Josef Blatt offer a comprehensive program, dominated by a complete, piano-accompanied performance of the Mendelssohn E Minor Violin Concerto. To claim that these recordings are a precious legacy would be an understatement.” - San Francisco Examiner


Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Tomaso Vitali: Chaconne
JS Bach: Sonata in G minor, BWV 1001
Nathan Milstein: Paganiniana (Variations)
Felix Mendelssohn: Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 (with piano accompaniment)
Frederic Chopin: Nocturne in C-sharp minor
Henryk Wieniawski: Scherzo-Tarantelle

Nathan Milstein, violin
Josef Blatt, piano