Artur Balsam in Concert at the Manhattan School of Music

$ 14.99

This exciting release presents the Polish born pianist Artur Balsam(1904-1994) in concert performances given during the latter part of the great artist's career. The two-disc set is drawn from three recitals given by the pianist in 1982, 1986 and 1987. Balsam's intense musicality and his formidable technique remained with him to the end of his life and these recordings, crowned by a stunning account of Beethoven's Diabelli Variations, show him deepening his art to the end.

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Artur Balsam

Disc A

Franz Joseph Haydn:
Sonata No. 60 in C Major, Hob. XVI, 50

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Variations on a Waltz by Diabelli, Op. 120

Disc B

Johannes Brahms:
Intermezzo in B minor, Op. 119, No. 1
Intermezzo in A major, Op. 118, No. 2
Capriccio in C-sharp minor, Op. 76, No. 5

Felix Mendelssohn:
Lied ohne Worte in E-flat major, Op. 67, No. 1

Fryderyk Chopin:
Three Mazurkas, Op. 63
Nocturne in F-sharp minor, Op. 48, No. 2
Polonaise in E-flat minor, Op. 76, No. 2
Mazurka in A minor, Op. 17, No. 4
Variations brillantes, Op. 12

BRIDGE 9226A/B (two discs for the price of one)

Related Balsam discs:

9063, 9066, 9110, 9125, 9148, 9175, 9185, 9196A/B, 9217A/B, 9225