Melvin Chen: Shostakovich Recital

$ 14.99 Review: 10/10 Highest Rating

Brilliant readings of major compositions by the great Russian composer. Melvin Chen's insight and virtuosity yield performances of great delicacy and savage power. Liner notes by Shostakovich scholar Malcolm MacDonald.



It is clear that the mind behind the playing is exceptional. Fortunately, these performances measure up to every expectation, and then some.” - American Record Guide

This is a brilliant recital, one that reveals just about every facet of Shostakovich’s musical personality in terms of his writing for piano.” - (Highest Rating 10/10)



Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Dmitri Shostakovich

First Piano Sonata, Op. 12 (1926)
Aphorisms, Op. 13 (1927)
Second Piano Sonata in B minor, Op. 61 (1943)
Dances of the Dolls (1952)

Melvin Chen, piano