Blue Mountain: A chamber opera in one act

$ 14.99

Premiered in 2007 in Norway, American composer Justin Dello Joio's one act opera, Blue Mountain, was written to commemorate the 100th year of Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg's death. The opera is based on descriptions of Grieg's final days (September 1907), and includes the roles of Grieg, his wife Nina, his physician, and his friend and champion, Percy Grainger. Dello Joio's colorful score weaves in references to a number of Grieg's works, including his Violin Sonata in C minor, one of his Lyric Pieces for Piano, (Evening in the Mountains) a brief snatch of Peer Gynt, and references to his Piano Concerto. Justin Dello Joio's music can also be heard on BRIDGE 9220, performed by Garrick Ohlsson, Ani Kavafian, Jeremy Denk and Carter Brey For more information, please visit


American Record Guide



International Record Review

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Justin Dello Joio

A Chamber Opera in One Act
Nils Harald Sødal; Njål Sparbo

Marianne Andersen, Torben Grue
The Norwegian Wind Ensemble
Kenneth Jean, conductor