Wind and Brass

Alexander Fiterstein performs Carl Maria von Weber

$ 14.99

This disc presents the three masterful works of Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826) for solo clarinet and orchestra. Composed by Weber for the leading clarinet virtuoso of the era, Heinrich Joseph Baermann (1784 – 1847), these three works have endured as favorites of clarinetists and audiences alike. The present recordings were made in 2011, and feature Alexander Fiterstein, whose playing was praised by the New York Times for its “beautiful liquid clarity”. Mr. Fiterstein is a first prize winner of the Carl Nielsen International Clarinet Competition and the “Aviv”competitions in Israel, and is a winner of the Young Concert Artists International Auditions.



For serious clarinet students and the performing professional, all three of these solo works with orchestra by Weber are on the absolutely ‘must know’ list. This is a great performance all around and most certainly deserves to in the mix when young clarinetists are searching for a performance to emulate!” - Audiophile Audition



Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor, op. 73
Clarinet Concerto No. 2 in E flat major, op. 74
Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra in E flat major, op. 26

Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet
San Francisco Ballet Orchestra
Martin West, conductor