Bridge Records Catalog

The Budapest String Quartet
Beethoven and Haydn Recital

$ 14.99

Best of Year - FI Magazine

An august musicologist recently wrote that "there were only two 'fabulous foursomes' during the twentieth century- The Beatles, and The Budapest String Quartet." The recordings on this disc are being released for the first time ever, and showcase the legendary Budapest at their youthful peak- 1940 and 1941- in performances of Haydn's "Lark" and Op. 76, No. 5 quartets. For sheer intensity, it is hard to imagine finer performances that these stunning "in-concert" readings.

In addition, the members of the Budapest are joined by pianist Mieczyslaw Horszowski for a luminous account of Beethoven's Op. 16 piano quartet- a performance given in 1955. This disc is a "must have" for serious fans of the great chamber music traditions in our century!



“Considering the sources on antique shellac discs, the lack of surface noise leaves one amazed. Bridge’s remastering obviously took much trouble to save these masterful performances. Major!” - inTune


Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872
PDF Booklet

Haydn: Quartet in D, Op. 64, No.5
Beethoven: Quartet in E-flat, Op.16
HaydnQuartet in D, Op. 76, No. 1 in G
Haydn: Rondo all'Ongarese from Trio No. 1 in G major

The Budapest String Quartet
Mieczyslaw Horszowski, piano


Related discs:

9342A/B, 9185, 9175, 9110, 9099A/C, 9085A/B, 9077, 9072A/C, 9063, 9062