Bridge Records Catalog

American Flute Quintets

$ 14.99

Joan Tower writes: "This is my fourth piece written for Carol Wincenc, an extraordinary flutist with a deep musicality." The main theme in Tower's virtuosic Rising repeatedly ascends using different kinds of scales- mostly octatonic or chromatic- and occasionally arpeggios. Arthur Foote's A Night Piece and Scherzo published in 1918, proved to be among Foote's most popular chamber works, the nocturne even being orchestrated for larger string ensemble in 1922. A Night Piece explores a long arching fragment of melody with close-knit and ever-shifting harmonies. The Scherzo is quintessential Foote- an A-B-A, with a foot-stomping dance, followed by a more introspective central episode, returning to the dance. The performances were prepared and performed at Vermont's Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival.



“Wincenc and the Green Mountain group play all of the pieces on the disc with consummate virtuosity and I think lovers of chamber music will want to own this disc.” - Fanfare

“This is a wonderful disc and the music is brilliantly played by five highly talented musicians.” - MusicWeb International


Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Joan Tower: Rising for Flute and String Quartet (2010)
Arthur Foote: Two Pieces for Flute and String Quartet (1918) (A Night Piece; Scherzo)
Amy Beach: Theme and Variations in A minor, Op. 80, for flute and string quartet

Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival:
Carol Wincenc, flute
Kevin Lawrence, violin
Carolyn Stuart, violin
Sheila Browne, viola
Brooks Whitehouse, cello