Bridge Records Catalog

Martin Boykan
Rites of Passage

$ 14.99

Martin Boykan studied composition with Walter Piston, Aaron Copland and Paul Hindemith, and piano with Eduard Steuermann. He received a BA from Harvard University, 1951, and an MM from Yale University, 1953.

Boykan was awarded the Jeunesse Musicales prize for his String Quartet No. 1, and the League ISCM award for his Elegy.  Other awards include a Rockefeller grant, NEA award, Guggenheim Fellowship, and a Fulbright.  In 2011 Boykan was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters.  He is Emeritus Professor of Music, Brandeis University.



Martin Boykan is one of the elite American composers of our time, and this Bridge Records collection of his chamber works hints at a few reasons why that is. The rich, atmospheric moods of these pieces linger like wisps of smoke or perfume on the breeze; they titillate and compel, evoking misty apparitions whose true appearance remains indeterminate.” - SCENE

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Impromptu for Violin Solo (1993)
Yohanan Chendler, violin

Sonata #2 for Violin and Piano (2009)
Curtis Macomber, violin, Stephen Gosling, piano

Sonata for Viola and Piano (2012)
Mark Berger, viola, Yoko Hagino, piano

Piano Trio #3 "Rites of Passage" (2006)
Yohanan Chendler, violin; Joshua Gordon, cello; Steven Weigt, piano

Psalm 121 (1997)
Pamela Dellal, mezzo-soprano; Yohanan Chendler, violin, Emil Altshuler, violin, Mary Ray Ruth, viola, Joshua Gordon, cello