Morton Feldman: For Christian Wolff

$ 44.99

For Christian Wolff is one of Morton Feldman's final compositions, and stands alongside the four-hours-plus For Philip Guston, the 70-minute For John Cage, and the six-hour String Quartet II. Writing about hearing this work, Christian Wolff says that "I found the experience of listening to it beautiful and interesting - it moves away partly from our (Morty's, John Cage's and mine) original preoccupation with just sound and sonority into areas of self-awareness about listening, being a listener, as such, because there's so much time to be thinking of this and that as well as just listening." The California EAR Unit's performances of Feldman's For Philip Guston (BRIDGE 9078A/D) and Crippled Symmetry (BRIDGE 9092A/B) have received high praise from the international musical press.



“Their interpretation expresses the charm of moderation and restraint, and does Feldman proud. Take your time, and enjoy the view along the way.” - Fanfare

“This piece is more for the seasoned Feldman listener, never the less it is a nicely presented release and the listening effort really does pay off.” - Musique Machine



Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Morton Feldman

California Ear Unit:
Dorothy Stone, flute; Vicki Ray, piano, celesta

BRIDGE 9279A/C (three discs)

Related discs:

94989446, 9420, 9369, 9092A/B, 9078A/D

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review