Fred Lerdahl, Vol. 6

$ 16.99

Critics Choice: Best of 2020

Fred Lerdahl, Vol. 6 presents new work by one of today's true masters.  The disc features two major works, the cello concerto, "Arches" and Lerdahl's fourth string quartet, "Chaconne". Producer David Starobin writes that "Lerdahl's work is rare in today's musical world in that it seeks and achieves both complexity and intelligibility. It is indebted to the past yet committed to the exploration of new territory."



"What I’ve found is music that is deep and that rewards repeated listenings. Superior performances and sound.” - American Record Guide

"Performed masterfully here by Danish cellist Toke Møldrup with the Odense Symphony Orchestra under Andreas Delfs, the dramatic work itself is, not surprisingly, arch-like, beginning and ending quietly after a rollercoaster of a ride. I found this a great introduction to the music of a heretofore unknown composer and I’m glad to know there are five previous volumes in the series."  - theWholeNote

"Wonderfully rich and lyric in its sound, a beautiful mix of ear, head, and heart. This is a disc I’ve been coming back to throughout the cycle. Stunningly performed throughout. Bridge has to be congratulated on their continuing commitment to this composer." - Fanfare

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872


There and Back Again (2011)

Tom Kraines, cello

Chaconne (String Quartet No. 4) (2016)

Daedalus Quartet

Fire and Ice (2015)

Elizabeth Fischborn, soprano

Edwin Barker, double bass

Three Bagatelles (2016)

Movses Pogossian, violin

David Starobin, guitar

Arches (2011)

Toke Møldrup, cello

Odense Symphony Orchestra

Andreas Delfs, conductor