To Anatolia: Selections from the Turkish Five
Beyza Yazgan, piano

$ 14.99

"To Anatolia" is Turkish/American pianist Beyza Yazgan's passionately played collection of Turkish classical piano repertoire from a group of composers known as “The Turkish Five” (Cemal Reşit Rey (1904-1985), Ferid Alnar (1906-1978), Ulvi Cemal Erkin (1906-1972), Adnan Saygun (1907-1991), and Necil Kazım Akses (1908-1999). The music was composed between 1931-1976 with most of the pieces inspired by Anatolian folksongs, stories, dances, dirges, and lullabies. Though the compositions were all written for piano, the colors and influences of eastern instruments are present throughout.

Performing Arts Monterey Bay Review

Click here to order from