Bridge Records Catalog

Piano and String Quartet: Morton Feldman, Vol. 4

$ 14.99

Composed two years before his death, the ultra-impressionistic Piano and String Quartet is one of the most beguiling of Feldman's late works. With its chords based on semitones, this nearly 80-minute, single movement work floats in a typical Feldmanesque haze, yet progresses with a forward moving determination and logic that sets it apart from some of Feldman's more static pieces of this period. This gorgeous performance by Vicki Ray and the Eclipse Quartet has an almost erotically sensual quality. Turn down the lights, get comfortable and prepare to be enveloped in an aural experience of exceptional warmth and depth. These other Morton Feldman works are on Bridge: for Christian Wolff (BRIDGE 9279A/C); Crippled Symmetry (BRIDGE 9092A/B); for Philip Guston (BRIDGE 9078A/D) "This glowing yet understated account represents a near-ideal vision of the piece, treading a sometimes precarious path between cold, expressionless objectivity and irrelevantly overheated personal expression." - The Strad



Fanfare #2

MusicWeb International


The Guardian

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Morton Feldman

Vicki Ray, piano
Eclipse Quartet


Related discs:

94989446, 9420, 9279A/C, 9092A/B, 9078A/D