Great Performances from the Library of Congress

Franck and Schubert Recital
Great Performances, Vol. 23

$ 14.99

The latest release in Bridge’s Library of Congress series joins the Budapest String Quartet with one of their favorite pianists, Artur Balsam. The performance of Schubert’s “Trout” Quintet is from a concert given in the Coolidge Auditorium on April 26, 1956. The Budapests and Balsam are joined by bass player Julius Levine in this lovely reading of Schubert’s masterpiece. The Franck Quintet, from a December 18, 1953 concert is given a reading of burning intensity by Balsam and the Budapests. Disc annotator Harris Goldsmith writes that “Balsam was a paragon- a marvel of relaxed professionalism; he was, as many of his colleagues and disciples attest, an instrumentalist of awesome facility and accomplishment and a sight-reader of almost unparalleled quickness. Hearing his masterly phrasing and luminous tone is sufficient aural testimony to place Balsam in the highest artistic echelon.” The restoration of these performances, released for the first time, was by Grammy-winning producer, Adam Abeshouse.

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

PDF Booklet

Quintet for Piano and Strings in A Major, D. 667 (Op. posth. 114)
Franz Schubert

Quintet for Piano and Strings in F Minor
César Franck

Artur Balsam, piano
Julius Levine, contrabass
The Budapest String Quartet


Related discs:

9342A/B, 9175, 9110, 9099A/C, 9085A/B, 9077, 9072A/C, 9067, 9063, 9062

Related Balsam discs:

9063, 9066, 9110, 9125, 9148, 9175, 9196A/B, 9217A/B, 9225, 9226A/B