The Music of Elliott Carter, Vol. 2

$ 14.99

BBC Music Magazine: Best of Year



Outstanding performances here by all concerned: some of the players go back decades with this repertoire, and their passion for and mastery of Carter’s music is clear.” - High Performance Review

This is an important disc, partly because it restores a major Carter work to the catalogue, partly for its useful update on some of the master’s recent miniatures.” - Gramophone

The Cello Sonata is a very approachable early masterpiece, the Violin Duo much thornier but just as great, and Enchanted Preludes for flute and cello a magical evocation of elfin charm and gossamer mystery...this is a first-class production in every way...” - American Record Guide

Cover painting by P. Craig Russell

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Elliott Carter, composer

Gra for Clarinet (1993)

Enchanted Preludes for Flute and Cello (1988)
Duo for Violin and Piano (1974)
Scrivo in Vento for Flute (1991)
Changes for Guitar (1983)
Con Leggerezza Pensosa for Clarinet, Violin and Cello (1990)
Riconoscenza per Goffredo Petrassi for Violin (1984)
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano (1948)

Group for Contemporary Music
Charles Neidich, clarinet
Harvey Sollberger, flute
Fred Sherry, cello
Rolf Schulte, violin
David Starobin, guitar
Charles Wuorinen and Martin Goldray, pianos


Related Carter discs:

9396, 9314, 9184, 9177, 9128, 9111, 9090, 9014, 9001