Bridge Records Catalog

New Music with Guitar, Vol. 10
David Starobin

$ 14.99

David Starobin's New Music with Guitar series has been "in progress" since 1981. The latest installment by the guitarist called "arguably the most influential American classical guitarist of the twentieth century" (Soundboard Magazine), includes both instrumental and vocal music performed by Starobin with long time collegaues and collaborators including baritone Patrick Mason, soprano Rosalind Rees, pianist Vassily Primakov, violinist Movses Pogossian and violist Paul Coletti.

David Starobin is the dedicatee of more than three hundred compositions featuring the guitar, including works by Milton Babbitt, Elliott Carter, George Crumb, Poul Ruders and Gunther Schuller.  A frequently honored figure, Starobin was called “arguably the most influential American classical guitarist of the 20th Century” (Soundboard), and was inducted into the Guitar Foundation of America's "Hall of Fame" in 2011.  David Starobin concertizes and records on both period and modern guitars, often championing the music of 19th century guitar masters Giuliani, Sor, Matiegka and Regondi.  Starobin has received Grammy nominations as guitarist, mandolinist, and  "Classical Producer of the Year".  He is Founder and Director of Artists & Repertoire at Bridge Records, Inc., a company which has been honored with 32 Grammy and Latin Grammy nominations.  Starobin is the co-librettist of the opera, The Thirteenth Child (music by Poul Ruders), and writer/director of the film String Trio, Los Angeles 1946, a documentary about Arnold Schoenberg, filmed in the composer's Los Angeles home.  Starobin has taught at MSM since 1993, holding the school's "Andres Segovia Chair" from 1993 to 2004.  He is also the holder of the Fondation Charidu Chair in Guitar Studies at the Curtis Institute of Music, where he co-founded Curtis's guitar department.  David Starobin is a student of guitarists Manuel Gayol, Alberto Valdes Blain and Aaron Shearer, and graduated from the Peabody Conservatory of Johns Hopkins University.  His musical compositions are published by Editions New Rochelle (New York); and Edition Wilhelm Hansen (Copenhagen).



On this program every piece is a treasure. Another triumph for Mr. Starobin.” - American Record Guide

The result is as always remarkable and interesting, Starobin and his colleagues are really excellent musicians and confirm their skills as interpreters. My compliments for their incredible job.” - NeuGuitars


Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Gregg Smith: Steps (1975)
Rosalind Rees, soprano
David Starobin, guitar

William Bland: Variations on a Theme by Carl Nielsen- "Underlige Aftenlufte" (2010)
David Starobin, guitar
Vassily Primakov, piano

Michael Starobin: Four Stevens (1992)
Patrick Mason, baritone
David Starobin, guitar

Paul Chihara: The Girl from Yerevan (2014)
David Starobin, guitar
Movses Pogossian, violin
Paul Coletti, viola

Poul Ruders: Oh, Mother (from the opera, "The Thirteenth Child") (2015)
Camille Zamora, soprano
Robert Belinic, guitar
Giovanni Andrea Zanon, violin
Jee Yoon Kim, violin
Thomas Howerton, viola
Blake Anthony Johnson, cello
David Starobin, conductor


Related discs:

9444, 9418, 9404, 92929272, 9239, 9166, 9144, 9136, 9107, 9084, 9071, 9055, 9042, 9039, 9029, 9022, 9009, 9004