David Starobin performs Mauro Giuliani, Volume 2

$ 14.99

David Starobin returns to the music of leading Italian composer/guitarist, Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829), with a disc featuring Giuliani's solo and chamber music. Among the rarities are Two Rondos, op. 68, for piano and guitar, performed with the Israeli pianist, Inon Barnatan; Variations, op. 24a, played with Amalia Hall, winner of the Postacchini International Violin Competition (2013); and Variations on a March by Cherubini, arguably the finest solo of the composer's late period. The Italian journal Il Fronimo (Milan) wrote of Starobin: "David Starobin has grasped the authentic spirit, aided by his perfect instrumental technique. Here, the music acquires its truest meaning, exalting the quality of phrasing as it is rarely ever heard. Starobin's is a truly influential artistry, a great personality who does honor to both music and the guitar." Also available: Starobin's Mauro Giuliani, Vol. 1 (BRIDGE 9029).

Order from Amazon.com
Order from Arkivmusic.com
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872

Mauro Giuliani

Grand Variations on a Savoyard Theme, WoO (posth) (guitar solo)
Allegretto, op. 98, no. 4
Andantino, op. 98, no. 7
Prelude, op. 83, no. 1 (guitar solo)
Variations, op. 24a (violin & guitar)
Two Rondos, op. 68, (piano and guitar)
Prelude, op. 83, no. 4
Allegretto, op. 98, no. 8
Marcia di Cherubini Variata, op. 110, (guitar solo)
with Amalia Hall, violin; Inon Barnatan, piano


Related discs:

9458, 9444, 9404, 92929272, 9239, 9166, 9144, 9136, 9107, 9084, 9071, 9055, 9042, 9039, 9029, 9022, 9009, 9004