Bridge Records Catalog

Morton Feldman: Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

$ 14.99

Feldman’s last work, Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello displays the qualities of the “late style”: complete mastery, utter assurance, and a kind of luminous melancholy. Like Palais de Mari, written a year earlier, it unfolds at a leisurely pace, with similar uses of repetition and recurrence, gentle rocking figures, and a somewhat restricted range. The measured unfolding of the material, without emphasis on dramatic contrast or large fluctuations in the rate of change, enables the listener to focus on the work’s many subtle and beguiling details.

Order from
Order from
Order from iTunes
Order from H&B Direct by calling 1-800-222-6872


American Record Guide

PDF Booklet

Morton Feldman:
Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello (1987)
Aleck Karis, piano
Curtis Macomber, violin
Danielle Farina, viola
Christopher Finckel, cello


Related Feldman discs:

9498, 9420, 9369, 9279A/C, 9092A/B, 9078A/D

Related Karis discs: